Giving Thanks

Today’s Devotional Tidbit – December 9, 2005
Giving Thanks
I Thessalonians 5:18

Warning: The following devotional tidbit might leave your mouth hanging wide open. The experience mentioned, certainly left my jaw dangling.

Paul wrote to the Thessalonian church saying they should give thanks (I Thess. 5:18). This morning, while I  took my son to a breakfast with Santa, we did this. We gave thanks for the food. I heard a lady at the other end of the table encourage her son to do the same. She ended up giving the thanks for her little boy’s food.  As we ate, I conversed with the mother. I found out she was changing careers. No longer would she teach, she was now going to be a mortician’s assistant. “I’ll be doing the incisions. I’ll get to cut and embalm,” she said with delight. She actually did have a smile when she said it. After the Santa event was over, I commented that I’d seen them say grace and asked her what church they attended. “Oh we don’t go to church, we’re pagans, but we still say thanks.” CLUNK!  That was my jaw hitting the ground.

Three things I have to say about that. 1) Who was she thanking? 2) It’s so nice she decided to make her son a pagan. Did you notice her comment? WE are pagans. and 3) This world is different than what we’re used to, but maybe more similar to the time of the Apostle Paul than we think.

We need to be thinking how we should reach those different than us. If we keep doing the same thing over and over again expecting different results, well, that’s the non-technical term for insanity.

In Him,
Brian Humek

Leave a Reply

