Where Are My Emails?

Today’s Devotional Tidbit – January 9, 2008
Where are my Emails?
Matthew 28:5-7

I’ve been having problems with my email. I called customer service and related my problem to them. I don’t think they believed me. They just didn’t have enough faith in what I was saying. Besides, I was trying to prove a negative and I think that’s impossible to do.
 
Let me elaborate on my email problem. Over the past 2000 nights after I fall asleep, electronic letters have floated through cyberspace, making their way to my nice and cozy inbox. Each evening, I receive about 50-70 of these e-mailed correspondences. Of course, most of it is pure junk and some of it is obscene. But like the mailman who is always faithful in making his rounds, the emails, all 50-70 of them, are waiting for me in my inbox each morning. Just like death and taxes, those 50-70 emails every morning in my inbox are a guarantee in my life…until Tuesday morning. When I checked email Tuesday morning, I found five emails. Count them, 1-2-3-4-5. That was it! Did all the spammers die overnight? I don’t think so. I had a problem with my emails not being delivered. That had to be it. This morning was worse. I had only three emails. After approximately 2000 nights in a row of having 50-70 emails sent to me, now I am averaging 4 emails per night.

I called customer service and found it impossible to prove a negative to them. They continually told me “You’re email program is configured correctly. Everything is working fine.” I told them I knew it was working fine but 90% of all the emails sent to me aren’t arriving. They’re being sent but not arriving in my inbox. I’m surprised one of the tech support people didn’t ask me to prove it. Before one of them had a chance to ask, I suggested this was sort of like trying to prove Jesus rose from the dead. Sometimes, a person needs to have faith.

I had planned on writing a devotional on Jesus’ resurrection the other day after watching the Steelers come back to lead the Jacksonville Jaguars late in a playoff game. I was going to call the devo “The Greatest Comeback” and relate it to Jesus coming back to life. But if you watched the game, the Steelers kind of messed up the analogy. Nevertheless, God provided me another life experience to relate to Jesus and his resurrection. Now, here’s hoping none of you sent me an email while my service was extremely messed up.

Peace y’all,
Brian

Leave a Reply

